Awards and Honors

About Rider / Historic Rider / Awards and Honors
This slideshow is not enabled

Chairperson Leadership Award 

The Chairperson Leadership Award was established at Rider in 2012 to foster, recognize and reward outstanding academic leadership and vision, especially in the areas of responsible and professional management, mentoring and communication, and innovation.  One recipient is selected annually from nominations submitted by academic deans and associate/assistant deans, department chairpersons, and full- and part-time faculty.

Distinguished Alumnus/a Award

The Distinguished Alumnus/a Awards are bestowed annually by the board of directors of Rider University’s Alumni Association and by faculty and administrative committees representing each of the four academic colleges on the University’s Lawrenceville campus. This award recognizes the honoree’s outstanding achievements and contributions to Rider University.

Dominick A. Iorio Faculty Research Prize

When Dr. Dominick A. Iorio, Dean Emeritus, College of Liberal Arts and Science retired in 1997, an award for faculty research was established in his name. The award has been presented annually,with the recipients presenting their research publicly during the academic year.

Gordon E. Prichard Award for Volunteer Service

The award is named for Gordon E. Prichard, a member of the Rider Class of 1963, who served with distinction as a member of the Alumni Association Board. This award recognizes the honoree’s distinguished and exceptional volunteer service to Rider University.

Frank N. Elliott Award Recipients

The Frank N. Elliott Award for Distinguished Service is presented each fall to one member of the faculty, administration and support staff. The award was created by Rider’s Board of Trustees to honor Dr. Elliott at the time of his retirement in 1990 for the many contributions he made to Rider during his 21-year presidency. The award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary service to Rider University.

Honorary Degree Recipients

An honorary degree is the highest accolade Rider University can bestow on an individual. It is given to honor a person who possesses outstanding qualities and talents, who has made exceptional contributions to the field of his or her endeavor, and who exemplifies the highest standards of personal integrity and civic responsibility.

The Mazzotti Awards in Women’s Leadership

The Mazzotti Awards offer opportunities for women faculty and staff members to attend leadership development programs that will assist recipients in their professional development and benefit the Rider community. Faculty and staff may apply for programs that will develop personal, administrative, or organizational leadership skills as well as discipline-specific skills. Award recipients share their experiences with the Rider community upon program completion.

Nancy Gray Award

The Nancy Gray Award is presented each year on University Day. The award, named for Nancy Gray, former vice president for development and university relations, honors a member of Rider’s faculty or staff who exemplifies campus leadership, involvement, school pride/spirit and community service.

President's Award

The President’s Award is presented annually to outstanding students selected by a committee of faculty, students and administrators. Recipients exemplify the highest attributes of leadership and personify the objectives of Rider University’s Mission Statement, which includes the commitment “to acquire knowledge, think critically and communicate clearly and lead affectively.

Sadie L. Ziegler-Bernice Gee Award

The Sadie L. Ziegler-Bernice Gee award is presented to the person that has most significantly contributed to the effort to end gender-based discrimination. It is awarded each April during the annual Gender and Sexuality Studies Colloquium.

Longtimers Service Recognition Program

Each year Rider University holds the Longtimers Reception to celebrate the loyalty and dedication of its faculty and staff who have reached 10 years of service or more.