Alumni Association Board of Directors

Alumni / Stay Connected / Alumni Association Board of Directors
This slideshow is not enabled

Executive Committee

Marci Gnandt, PresidentMarci Gnandt '00, '03, President

Marchella A. Gnandt is an accomplished finance, business management and accounting professional with a strong track record in her field. She currently serves as the Assistant Director of Facilities, Budget and Finance for Princeton University, where she oversees a team of 10 who are responsible for oversight of the annual budgeting and of the forecasting process, and a $125M operating budget. She served as the department’s manager prior.

Before her employment at Princeton University, Gnandt was a senior accountant at Rider University and served in several accounting and financial roles at Advance Electric Company in Robbinsville, New Jersey.

Gnandt received both her master of business administration and bachelor of science degrees from Rider University. She has extensive community leadership experience, which includes leadership roles at both Princeton University and Rider University.

Stephen Brill, First Vice PresidentStephen Brill '01, First Vice President

Stephen Brill is Associate General Counsel & Director of Legal Compliance at Smart Sand in Yardley, Pennsylvania, where he handles a broad range of matters including corporate governance, real estate and litigation.

He served as a partner with Fox Rothchild LLP in Princeton, where he has held several roles from 2003 to 2018.

Brill received his Juris Doctor with honors from Rutgers University School of Law, Camden, New Jersey, and his Master of Business Administration from Rutgers University School of Business, also in Camden, with highest honors. He earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Rider University, where he graduated summa cum laude.

He is a member of the Pennsylvania and New Jersey bar associations, and has volunteered in many community and business organizations, including the Rider University Alumni Board of Directors.

Eileen Wirth, Second Vice PresidentEileen Wirth '88, '95, Second Vice President

Eileen Wirth, MBA, CPM®, HCCP, SHCM® Ms. Wirth is the President & CEO of the Octavia Hill Association, Inc. (OHA), which, operates and manages approximately 400 housing units both market rate and affordable homes, throughout Philadelphia. She began her career at the New Jersey Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency, (HMFA), where she worked for 16 years, followed by positions in the housing departments of two large faith-based non-profit entities that provided affordable housing throughout New Jersey and the Greater Philadelphia area.

Ms. Wirth earned her Bachelor of Science degree with a concentration in finance, from what was then Rider College in 1988, and obtained her Master of Business Administration from Rider University in 1995. She holds the Certified Property Manager (CPM)® designation from the Institute of Real Estate Management (IREM), the Housing Credit Compliance Professional (HCCP) designation from the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB), and Specialist in Housing Credit Management (SHCM®) from the National Affordable Housing Management Association (NAHMA).

Ms. Wirth is active with several professional organizations including the Institute of Real Estate Management (IREM) and the Pennsylvania Delaware Affordable Housing Management Association (PennDel AHMA), as well as with the Rider Alumni Board of Directors and Women’s Leadership Council.

Kennth J. Bernabe, Corresponding SecretaryKenneth Bernabe '69, Corresponding Secretary/Treasurer

Kenneth J. Bernabe has extensive experience as an educator and administrator and holds New Jersey certifications for school administration, principal and supervisor and teacher of social studies, grades 7-12.

Bernabe was on the adjunct faculty of Holy Family University, Philadelphia in the Undergraduate School of Education from 2003-2014. He was Principal at James Caldwell School, Springfield, NJ; Florence M. Gaudineer Middle School, Springfield, NJ; and Delsea Regional High School, Franklinville, NJ. Prior to assistant principal positions at West Orange High School and Spotswood High School, he taught social studies and coached both wrestling and football.

Bernabe served in the U.S. Army (Re) from 1970-1976, in the Division of Combat Support training.

He received his bachelor’s degree in history from Rider University, his master’s degree from Seton Hall University, and earned more than 33 credits of post-graduate work, including as a Principals Fellow at Harvard University.

Bernabe is an experienced speaker and author in the field of education who has earned numerous awards and accolades for his achievements. He has also served as a board member or volunteer for various educational and community organizations.

Walter Darr, SecretaryWalter Darr '78, '91, Secretary

Walter Darr is an accomplished financial and banking professional with more than 40 years of experience in the banking industry, particularly in commercial and consumer lending and related areas.

Walter has held senior staff and officer positions at a number of banks over his career, focusing on various areas including credit, loan review, loan originations, operations, and credit underwriting.

He holds Bachelor's and Master's degrees from Rider with concentrations in finance, accounting, and management, in addition to further management studies at Mercer County Community College.

Since first joining the Alumni Board in 2002, he has participated in many Rider University and Westminster Choir College events over the years.

Board of Directors

Tricia A. Carlin '93
Joseph Casarella '55 (Honorary)
Tanisha Russell Day '00, '03
Pedro Figueroa '09
Jessica Crowell-Graff '15
Kenneth M. Isky '77 (Honorary)
Kevin Lawton '10, '11
Christopher Manning '06
David J. McCue '78 (Honorary)
Richard E. Moyer '74
Matthew Nissen '08, '09
Terry Rogers Jr. '79
Amy Friedman Schwartz '87
Inna Scully '08
Nicole Woodland-DeVan '98
Herbert R. Young '50 (Honorary)

Committee Structure

Executive Committee

This committee is responsible for overseeing the management of the Alumni Board of Directors.

Chair: Marci Gnandt
Alumni Relations Staff Representative: Natalie Pollard


Kenneth Bernabe
Stephen Brill
Walter Darr
Eileen Wirth


This committee will be involved with selecting the recipients of the four Alumni Awards which will be presented during Rider Reunions in June.

Co-Chairs: Terry Rogers and Joseph Casarella
Alumni Relations Staff Representatives: Natalie Pollard


Ken Bernabe
Walter Darr
Kenneth Isky


Non-Board Members

Barbara Jacobs '98, '02
Shawn Kildea '93, '01
Karin Klim
James Manahan '80

Alumni Engagement

Members of this committee will serve as ambassadors for the Alumni Office and will specifically assist the Office of Alumni Relations at Rider Reunions, will meet and greet alumni at various events, will recruit volunteers for alumni events.

Chair: Nicole Woodland-Devan
Alumni Relations Staff Representative: Jennifer Gursky


Tricia Carlin
Tanisha Russell Day
Amy Friedman Schwartz
Inna Scully
Herb Young

Alumni Board Student Engagement Committee

Members of this committee will take an active role in Post Commencement Receptions in May and will work with Alumni Relations and the President’s Office. They will also plan and implement a Pinning Ceremony for the Senior Class.  In addition, they will serve as guest speakers in support of student oriented events and will attend the Family Weekend Legacy Breakfast held in November each year.

Chair: Kevin Lawton
Alumni Relations Staff Representative: Pamela Mancini


Jessica Crowell-Graff
Pedro Figueroa
Chris Manning
Rich Moyer
Matthew Nissen

Fundraising Committee

This committee will be responsible for taking an active role in promoting and supporting fundraising initiatives for the Alumni Board and the University.

Chair: Eileen Wirth
Alumni Relations Staff Representative: Natalie Pollard