Driver's Licenses and Automobiles
To obtain a driver’s permit, driver’s license, or to register a vehicle, go to a Motor Vehicle Station located at Bakers Basin on Route 1 Northbound in Lawrenceville, just before the Quakerbridge Mall. No appointment is necessary but the Department of Motor Vehicles agencies are usually very busy, so be prepared to wait.
- Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
- Address: 3200 Brunswick Pike, Lawrenceville NJ
- Telephone: 1.888.486.3339
Documents you will need to take with you:
- Student ID card
- College transcript (copy)
- Social Security card or Social Security Letter of Exemption
- I-20 or DS 2019
- Proof of address (copy of bank statement or utility bill)
- Proof of automobile insurance
For a permit, you will have to take a written examination consists of 30 questions, of which you must answer correctly at least 24. It is a computer-format exam and it only takes 15 minutes. If you happen to fail the written exam, you can retake it after 7 days. In order to prepare for this exam, you must read very carefully a free brochure available in all Division of Motor Vehicle offices. There is a fee of $10.00. Once you pass a written test and a vision test, you get your permit and can begin supervised practice driving.
Once you have completed your practice training, you will take a vision test and a road test. When you have passed, you will be issued a regular New Jersey driver’s license. New Jersey issues a four-year photo license. There is a fee of $24.00.
If you already have a driver's license in your country, you may be exempted from the road-test only if you bring with you both your original license and your international license.
If you purchase a car, take with you the documents listed above. You will be required by law to pay to register the vehicle, pay New Jersey sales tax, and to purchase at least liability insurance coverage. Adding collision and comprehensive coverage will increase the cost. There are many different insurance companies, so compare rates and types of coverage carefully before making a choice. Be aware that all cars must pass the NJ inspection. If the car does not pass inspection, the owner must pay for repair until the car can pass inspection.