Rider’s National Broadcasting Society flies to California to take home three first-place awards

Michelle Wood '17

Students from the Rider University chapter of the National Broadcasting Society (NBS) claimed three first-place awards at the 53rd annual National Broadcasting Society-Aerho National Undergraduate Student Production Competition, held in Burbank, Calif., on March 16.

The Rider NBS Chapter sent 28 students to the convention, where Rider was a finalist in 16 different categories. Throughout the convention, Rider students networked with students from over 20 colleges, Rider alumni who currently reside in Los Angeles and professionals in the entertainment capital of the world.

Some of the competition that the Rider NBS students faced included Monmouth University, the University of Oklahoma, West Texas A&M University, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, University of Florida and Central Michigan University.

Rider’s Matthew St. Onge and Isabella Azar won first place for Audio Station Imaging for their piece, Station Double Shot Sweep. Sophomore Kelsey Edwards won for Best Spec Script for her piece, The Guys Go Bowling, and Matthew St. Onge, Andrew Zayciek, Haley Vassiljev, Isabella Azar and Matthew McGorty won for Best Audio Commercial for their piece, Animal Hospital Kingston and Blawenburg Spot.

Not only did students take home awards. Rider University professor Scott Alboum was honored by being named NBS-AERho Advisor of The Year. Alboum serves as the video technologies coordinator and the advisor to R.U.N., the Rider University Network.

“Being named advisor of the year was a tremendous honor,” says Alboum. “I have been involved with NBS-AERho for nearly 20 years and I never thought I would receive an honor like this. I hope to continue to work with NBS-AERho and I plan to bring students from Rider to next year’s convention.”

For more information about the Rider University chapter of the National Broadcasting Society, email Scott Alboum at [email protected]