Process for Resolving Complaints – Distance Learning Programs

About Rider / Consumer Information / Process for Resolving Complaints – Distance Learning Programs
This slideshow is not enabled

Process for Resolving Complaints – Distance Learning Programs

Rider University believes that the vast majority of student complaints, grievances, or concerns can be handled in a fair and expeditious manner internally. Students residing both inside and outside the State of New Jersey should first try to resolve their complaint emailing the College of Continuing Studies at [email protected] or by calling (609) 896-5033.

Complaints related to Grades, Academic Policies, or Student Conduct follow the Policies section of the Academic Catalog or the Student Code of Conduct manual available on the Rider website.

If a complaint that does not relate to Grades, Academic Policies, or Student Conduct cannot be resolved, or if a student wishes to challenge the decision of their complaint, the student can appeal their complaint within two years of the incident occurring. Students who wish to escalate their complaint may follow one of the appropriate steps outlined below:

  1. Contacting Rider University’s Accreditor, The Middle States Commission on Higher Education, at 3624 Market Street, 2nd Floor West, Philadelphia, PA 19104, by calling (267) 284-5000 or by visiting
  2. Contacting the SARA portal agency in the home state of the institution against which the complaint has been lodged. That agency shall notify the SARA portal agency for the state in which the student is located of receipt of that appealed complaint. For more information, visit
  3. Contacting their state’s designated department of education or consumer affairs. For students residing in the State of New Jersey, contact Office of Secretary of Higher Education, P.O. Box 542, Trenton, NJ 08625-0542 or by visiting Students who reside outside of New Jersey may contact their state’s designated office from the list below:
State Agency Information & URL to Complaint Process / Form (When Available)
Alabama Alabama Commission on Higher Education
Alaska Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
Arizona Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education
Arkansas Arkansas Department of Higher Education
California California Bureau for Private Post-secondary Education
Colorado Colorado Department of Higher Education
Connecticut The Connecticut Office of Higher Education
Delaware Delaware Department of Education, Higher Education Office. Contact Information: (302) 735-4120, [email protected]
District of Columbia District of Columbia Office of the State Superintendent of Education, Higher Education Licensure Commission
Florida Florida Department of Education
Georgia Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission
Hawaii Hawaii Post-secondary Education Authorization Program
Idaho Idaho State Board of Education
Illinois Illinois Board of Education
Indiana Indiana Commission for Higher Education
Iowa Iowa College Student Aid Commission
Kansas Kansas Board of Regents
Kentucky Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
Louisiana Louisiana Board of Regents
Maine Maine Department of Education
Maryland Maryland Higher Education Commission
Massachusetts Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
Michigan Michigan Department of Education (MDE)
Minnesota Minnesota Office of Higher Education
Mississippi Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation
Missouri Missouri Department of Higher Education
Montana Montana University System, Montana Board of Regents
Nebraska Student Complaints Against Postsecondary Institutions
Nevada Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education
New Hampshire New Hampshire Department of Education
New Mexico New Mexico Higher Education Department
New York New York Office of College and University Evaluation
North Carolina North Carolina Post-Secondary Education Complaints
North Dakota North Dakota University System
Ohio Ohio Board of Regents
Oklahoma Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania Department of Education
Puerto Rico Puerto Rico Council of Education
Rhode Island Rhode Island Board of Governors for Higher Education
South Carolina South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
South Dakota South Dakota Department of Education
Tennessee Tennessee Higher Education Commission
Texas Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Utah Utah Division of Consumer Protection
Vermont Vermont Department of Education
Virginia State Council of Higher Education
Washington Washington Student Achievement Council
West Virginia West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
Wisconsin Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
Wyoming Wyoming Department of Education