New Student Orientation

New Student Orientation is an exciting, informative program for all new students and their family members.

Students, you will have the opportunity to meet and get to know your classmates, learn about the campus and available resources, meet with faculty and administrators and receive your course schedules. Family members, we also have an orientation designed specifically for you with information on how you can support your student along with some of the "nuts and bolts" that you're interested to know.

Fall 2014 New Student Orientation

All First Year Students entering the university for the 2014 Fall Semester will be assigned a New Student Orientation Session based on their academic major.

Freshmen Summer Orientation Sessions
Wednesday, July 9 – Thursday, July 10, 2014
Sunday, July 13 – Monday, July 14, 2014
Wednesday, July 16 – Thursday, July 17, 2014
Sunday, July 20 – Monday, July 21, 2014
Wednesday, July 23 – Thursday, July 24, 2014

Transfer Student Orientation Sessions
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Frequently Asked Questions

When and how long are orientation sessions?
All freshmen will attend a two-day program during the summer. Check in on the first day begins at 2 p.m. for students staying on campus overnight and 2:30 p.m. for students not staying on campus overnight. Parents and family members check in at the same time as their students. Day 1 programming for parents and family members ends with a reception at Dean Campbell's house, which starts at 8:15 p.m. Day 2 of orientation begins at 8 a.m. and ends by 1:30 p.m.

Transfer students will be assigned to a one-day orientation program on either Thursday, June 27 or Tuesday, August 27. Check in begins at 8:30 a.m. and programming ends by 1:30 p.m.

What if I need to change my orientation session date?
You are strongly encouraged to attend the session to which you are assigned - this will allow you to complete your course selection with an advisor from your department. If it is necessary for you to change your date, please call the Orientation Office at 609-896-5373.

Staying Overnight
Incoming freshmen are invited to stay overnight in the residence halls during Orientation. We have made special accommodations with local hotels for family members who are attending orientation to stay overnight at a discounted rate.

Are you a Westminster Choir College Student?
Visit the Princeton campus Orientation information section that is specific to Princeton campus students.