Meaghan Haugh

One night, while staying in a hotel in Philadelphia, Gregory N. Senkevitch ’79 was perplexed to read a particular scrolling headline on Fox Business News: Goldman Sachs – Illegal or unethical?

“And it hit me – does it matter?” Senkevitch said. “It’s just wrong.”

As the guest speaker at the Beta Gamma Sigma induction ceremony on April 29, Senkevitch shared the news story with honored students and their families. The principal of AGN Realty Partners, LLC, advised the students to read about the economic events from 2004 to 2007, including the market crash and its fallout, in order to learn from what happened and prevent fraudulent actions.

“We’re learning that now – the hard way. There’s no credit out there,” he told the students. “I don’t find this depressing, I find it inspirational. You’re young and impressionable. You’re starting out in your business careers. You have the chance to do it right. That’s what we are hoping.”

With more than 30 years of business experience, Senkevitch, who received bachelor’s degrees with majors in Accounting and Decision Sciences, was selected as a guest speaker because he exemplifies the ideals of the society and exhibits personal integrity. In fact, his lecture illustrated the values of the business honor society, which aims to honor academic achievement in the study of business, and to foster personal and professional excellence.

As a senior at Rider, Senkevitch interned at accounting giant Arthur Young, now known as Ernst & Young, which eventually led to a job in the audit department after graduation. He left Arthur Young in 1984 for a six-year stay at Prudential, where he formed and managed more than 25 real-estate ventures with foreign financial institutions and pension funds. Recently, he has teamed up with two long-time associates to start AGN Realty Partners, LLC, of Morristown, N.J. Currently, Senkevitch shares his knowledge and expertise with his alma mater while serving on the President’s Council and the College of Business Administration Executive Advisory Council.

This year, Rider’s chapter inducted 80 students into the national honor society for students and alumni of AACSB accredited business programs. Membership is limited to the top 20 percent of graduate students receiving degrees, the top 10 percent of current and recently graduated seniors, and the top 10 percent of juniors.

In addition, Rebecca McCue, a senior Business Administration major, was awarded a $1,000 scholarship at the ceremony. McCue was selected based on her strong performance in and outside of the classroom. For the past two years, she has been named an Andrew J. Rider Scholar, which honors the top one percent of sophomores, juniors and seniors in each of the six academic colleges and schools. Her activities include Beta Gamma Sigma, CBA Honors Program and Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society.

Jamie Smith Hall, academic coordinator in the College of Business Administration, and Stacy Fischler Parrado, assistant dean for administration for the College of Business Administration, serve as the advisers of the Rider chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma.

The inductees included juniors Jeffrey Barsoum, Finance major; Stefanie Cupo, Accounting; Jesse Estok, Business Administration; Andrew Faughnan, Accounting;
Jason Gallicchio, Computer Information Systems; Natallia Haroshka, Actuarial Science; Meghan Jackson, Computer Information Systems; Clint Kaupke, Marketing; Shamyra Leak, Accounting; Brooke Lera, Accounting; Alexandra Lipari; Marketing, International Business and Global Multinational Studies; Natalie Lipovetsky, Global Business; Bing Liu, Accounting; Joseph Maria, Management; Jasmin Romero, Accounting; Antonio Schiano-Lomoriello, Accounting; William Smitheman; Accounting; and Joanna Witas, Accounting.

Senior inductees included Michelle Blum, Accounting; Ellen Carey, Accounting; Nerrissa Carty, Accounting; Tatana Cepkova, Business Administration; Sebastian Compagnucci, Global Business; Matthew Deliberti, Accounting; David Denson, Global Supply Chain Management; Debra Doan, Human Resource Management; Domenico Frascella, Marketing; Christopher Fuccello,  Accounting; Mallory Garbaravage, Accounting; Lauren Higgins, Finance; Chelsea Hinkle, Global Business; John Holden, Accounting; Brianna Kuhl, Global Business; Clement Latshaw, Entrepreneurial Studies; Matthew Lichtiger, Finance; Matthew McCarry, Actuarial Science; Rebecca McCue, Business Administration; Justin Mersinger, Advertising and Marketing; Victoria Ohorodnyk, International Business; Stacey Penczak, Accounting; Tarek Refaat, Finance; and Stephanie Renzo, Accounting.

Inductees also included December 2009 and May 2010 graduates Adriana Arismendi, EMBA; Hilary Bogart, MACC; Corey Brenman, Business Administration;
Jeffry Duggan, MBA; Wendy Ekis, MBA; Patricia Ficarotta, Business Administration; Brian Flynn, MBA; Michael Friedman, MBA; Anne-Laure Girard, Marketing and International Business; Christopher Gottuso, Finance; Jessica Graf, Finance; Rose Indoe, Accounting and Finance; Shari Joslin, EMBA; Jill Maisto, MBA; Mary Moon, MBA; Jefferson Pool, MBA; Samantha Rothlein, Business Administration; Maria Spera, MACC; Erin Toth, MBA; Anthony Trofe, Finance; Elizabeth Williams, Business Administration and Management; Bryan Witkowski, Accounting and Finance; and Stan Yuen, MBA.

Inductees also included May and August 2009 graduates Viola Akruk, MBA; Cary Clayton, MBA; Margarita Lopez, Marketing; Veronica Mao, Marketing and Advertising; Holly Shavell, Management; Diane Campbell, MBA; Daniel Davey, MBA; Meghan Hover, MBA; Eike Kellermeier, MBA; Li Li, MBA; Richard Molitoris, MBA; Andrew Tirney, MBA; and Peter Wonaszek, MBA.