The Rider Allies Program

The Rider Allies Program is a campus wide voluntary program that creates allies, supports and resources for the LGBTQ community. It is designed to create a network of allies and visibly identify faculty, staff and students who support the LGBTQ population and can provide a safe and nondiscriminatory environment on campus for members of the LGBTQ community.  They can provide support, information and resources available both locally and nationally.

Allies have attended Ally Training and agreed to be visible allies of the LGBTQ community on campus. Allies can be identified by their display of the following decal:

What does the sticker mean?

The display of the Ally sticker means that the owner has attended an Ally Training and agreed to be supportive and affirming of the LGBTQ community. It does not mean that the owner identifies as lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender.

The absence of an Ally symbol should not be interpreted in any way nor does it imply that the person or space is not safe.  The University’s values, as well as nondiscrimination and harassment policies, clearly articulate the University’s expectations that all community members will be treated fairly.

FAQ

If someone wants advice on what to tell his/her roommate, friends, or family about being lesbian, gay, or bisexual, how can I help?
Remember that the individual must decide for him/herself when and to whom they will reveal their sexual identity. Don't tell someone to take any particular action; the person could hold you responsible if it doesn't go well. Do listen carefully, reflect on the concerns and feelings you hear expressed, and suggest available resources for support. Help the person think through the possible outcomes of coming out. Support the person's decision even if you don't agree with it, and ask about the outcomes of any action taken.

How can I support LGBTQ people without my own sexual orientation becoming an issue?
Be aware that if you speak out about issues related to sexual orientation, some people may take this as an indication of your own sexual orientation. Take time in advance to think through how you might respond to this. How do you feel about your own sexual identity? Are you comfortable with yourself? Regardless of your sexual orientation, a confidence in your own self- image will make you less vulnerable.

How should I respond to rumors that someone is lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender?
Let others know that the sexual orientation of any individual is irrelevant unless that person wishes to disclose that information. If you can, address any myths or stereotypes that may be fueling such speculation. If a particular person continues to spread rumors, talk to that person individually.

I think I might be LGBT, now what do I do?
Realizing and acknowledging that you are attracted to members of the same sex is often a difficult experience. If you think you may be Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual or Transgender (LGBT) you might feel anxious about what it means and what others might think.

It's normal to feel scared when exploring your sexual orientation. Fear of abandonment by friends and family or just a fear of being different is common. Here are a few suggestions and resources to help you:

There is no right or wrong answer. There is only your answer! No one can tell you that you are LGBT or straight. There is no blood test or book or expert. Be leery of anyone who purports to tell you who or what you are.

Get support. Asking for help is difficult but you may find it useful to talk to someone.  If you don’t think friends and family will be accepting, consider talking to a counselor who will be supportive and non-judgmental. Talking to someone can help you explore your own feelings and beliefs about being LGBT, both positive and negative.  There are counseling services available on campus or check the resources links below.

Check out your local Pride center. If you're lucky enough to be in close proximity to one call them up or just stop by. They often have "coming out" groups as well as other social activities.  Information and links about local LGBT centers/support groups are listed under LGBTQ resources on the main page.

Where can I find resources on Coming Out?

The following websites can provide information on the Coming Out process:

  • Human Rights Campaign
    Human Rights Campaign is the largest civil rights organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender Americans and works to achieve equality through advocacy and education.
  • Advocates for Youth
    This organization provides information regarding GLBTQ issues and advocates for GLBTQ youth in communities as well as encourages self-advocacy.
  • ReachOut
    ReachOut aims to help teens and young adults dealing with difficulty issues and struggling with mental health issues by providing information and support.   All of the websites content is written by teens and young adults to help teens and young adults.  Focus is on helping them face their issues by becoming aware of their strengths and how to find additional help when needed.

LGBTQ Resources

On Campus

  • Spectrum Pride Alliance at Rider - 609-896-5218
  • Counseling Centers:
    Lawrenceville: Zoerner House - 609-896-5157
    Princeton: Williamson Hall, Rm 6 - 609-921-7100 x8275      

Local LGBTQ Resources

  • HiTops
    HiTops LGBTQ group meets 1st and 3rd Saturdays of each month, 2:30-4:30
    21 Wiggins St.
    Princeton, NJ 08540
    Phone: 609-613-5155
  • Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) of Princeton(at HiTops)
    Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) promotes the health and well-being of GLBT individuals and their families and friends, through education, advocacy, and support activities.
    21 Wiggins St.
    Princeton, NJ 08540

    Phone: 609-613-5155
  • Gay Lesbian Straight Education Network (GLSEN) Central New Jersey
    The Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network (GLSEN) is a leading national education organization focused on ensuring safe schools for all students.
    PO Box 261
    Hightstown, NJ 08520
    Phone: 609-448-8243
    email: cnj_glsen@yahoo.com
  • The Pride Center of New Jersey
    Provides support to and fulfills social needs of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender individuals.  It is a safe space for the GLBT community and houses numerous groups and programs.
    1048 Livingston Avenue
    New Brunswick, NJ 08902

    Phone: 732- 846-2232

Support Groups/Organizations

  • The Pride Center of New Jersey offers the following groups:
    1088 Livingston Ave.
    North Brunswick NJ 08902
    Phone: 732-846-2232
  • Men’s Coming Out Group
    A moderated discussion group for issues related to coming out as gay men. Men vote on the topic of the day. Meets every Wednesday at 7:30 pm at the Pride Center of New Jersey.  Send e-mail to njwarrior@aol.com for more info.
  • ComeOUT & Play
    Social networking group for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered 20- to 30-somethings in New Jersey. While based at the Pride Center of New Jersey in Highland Park, events are scheduled throughout the entire Garden State. Regular meetings occur at the Pride Center on the first and third Tuesdays of each month (except for holidays).
  • Women’s Coming Out Group
    This group provides a supportive environment for women who are at any stage of the coming out process. Women 18 and older who consider themselves gay, lesbian, bisexual, or questioning are welcome. Meets on the third Thursday of every month, 7:30PM to 9:00PM at the Pride Center New Jersey.
  • Under the Rainbow at the Pride Center of New Jersey
    Both a discussion group and a social group for young GLBT people ages 18-25. The group meets the first Friday of each month from 4:30PM-7:30PM. Please contact secretkpr23@yahoo.com for more details.
  • Bisexual Support Group
    A safe space for bisexuals to come together to discuss issues pertaining to bisexuality and to socialize. Meets 7:30 pm -9:00 pm Second Tuesday of every month at the Pride Center of New Jersey.
  • TruSelves
    A facilitated support group exclusively for and about transgender-identified individuals, regardless of where on the transgender spectrum you believe you live. TrueSelves is a safe place where you can share your feelings and experiences in an open, non-judgmental and accepting atmosphere.  TruSelves meets the 3rd Sunday of every month, 4 -6 PM.  For more information please contact StephanieBattaglino, 201-704-2996 or stephaniefyh@gmail.com.
  • Buck’s County LGBTQA Youth Center offers the following group:
    The Rainbow Room at Planned Parenthood – Rainbow Room is a resource for LGBTQA Youth ages 14-21. The Rainbow Room meets at the Doylestown center; please call for information about times and location.

LGBT of Color

  • Fierce
    FIERCE is a membership-based organization building the leadership and power of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) youth of color in New York City. 
  • Ambiente Youth
    A site hosted by Advocates for Youth providing information and community for Latino LGBTQ youth.
  • Long-Yang Club – New Jersey
    For gay Asians and Pacific Islanders and their friends. E-mail lycnj@aol.com for more info.

HIV/AIDS Information & Testing Sites

Anonymous vs. Confidential Testing

In most states you can find clinics that offer "anonymous" or "confidential" HIV tests. It may be important to you to know the difference between those two terms when you choose a clinic for the test.

"Confidential" testing means that your name and other identifying information is attached to your test results. With confidential tests, the patient’s name is recorded with the test results. These results are kept secret from everyone except the medical personnel and perhaps the state health department.  According to New Jersey law, if the patient tests positive, his or her name must be reported to the state.  The results also go in your medical record and may be shared with your insurance company if a claim is made.  Otherwise, the results are kept private, just as most medical records are.

“Anonymous" testing means that your name is never used — just an ID number. That number is attached to your test results. You get your results by matching the number. Usually the results aren't written down — they are just told to you either over the phone or in person. With anonymous testing, your test results are not part of your medical record.

In New Jersey, the law allows for both confidential and anonymous testing.  The individual being tested should ask the site which forms of testing they offer (confidential vs. anonymous) and, in the case of confidential tests, who may have access to the results.

"Anonymous" testing is not available in some states, so when you schedule an appointment, ask if it is available in your state.

Local Resources

HiTops (confidential)
21 Wiggins Street
Princeton, New Jersey 08544
Phone: 609-683-5155

Henry J. Austin Health Center (free & anonymous)
321 North Warren St.
Trenton, New Jersey
Phone: 609-278-5945

Robert Wood Johnson University Medical Group (free & anonymous)
Ambulatory Care Building- HIV Counseling and Testing Program
Suite One, Little Albany Street
New Brunswick, New Jersey 08901
Phone: 732-235-7114

Health Federation of Philadelphia - Women’s Anonymous Test Site (confidential and anonymous)
1211 Chestnut St., Ste. 701
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107
Phone: 215-246-5210 (main)

Planned Parenthood Central NJ (confidential and anonymous)
Planned Parenthood Central NJ has several locations in Central New Jersey including New Brunswick, Freehold, Hazlet, Shrewsbury, Hazlet and Spotswood.
Consult the PPCNJ website for location addresses.
http://www.plannedparenthood.org/central-new-jersey/

Planned Parenthood of Bucks County (confidential and anonymous)
Centre Plaza Shopping Center
2185 Galloway Road
Bensalem, PA 19020
Phone: 215-638-0629

National Resources

Amplify Your Voice
A website by and for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning young people addressing sexual health and issues of concern to queer youth.

The Trevor Project
National organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning youth.

Human Rights Campaign
The HRC Foundation maintains resources and publications on coming out transgender issues, LGBT-related healthcare topics and information about workplace issues faced by LGBT people, notably the Corporate Equality Index.

It Gets Better Project
The It Gets Better Project was created to show young LGBT people the levels of happiness, potential, and positivity their lives will reach – if they can just get through their teen years. The It Gets Better Project wants to remind teenagers in the LGBT community that they are not alone — and it WILL get better.

General Health/STI/Sexuality

Afraid to Ask
AfraidToAsk.com offers in-depth information and graphic photographs that will give you a better understanding of highly personal health issues.

Scarleteen
Scarleteen is an independent, grassroots sexuality education and support organization and website.  It provides content and interaction which seeks to provide developmentally and culturally-appropriate sexuality education and information that reflects the diversity of people and sexuality; that aims to serve all sexes, genders, economic and social classes, sexual orientations and relationship models, types of embodiment and more, including information on contraception, safer sex and sexual health, reproductive choice, masturbation, anatomy, ,sexual orientation and other aspects of sexual identity, gender identity and equity, pleasure and human sexual response, body image, sexual and romantic relationship formation, communication and negotiation, sexual and other interpersonal abuse, self-esteem and care and compassion in sexual enactment that is not intentionally exclusive to any one group, save privileging those in their teens and twenties.

Coalition for Positive Sexuality
The Coalition for Positive Sexuality was formed to give teens the information about sexuality they need to take care of themselves and affirm their decisions.


The information contained on this website page is based on Safe Zone, Safe Space and Ally programs at other colleges and universities throughout the country.
 
Rider University’s Allies Program was created by Christine Scheil from the Counseling Center and is coordinated by the Gender and Sexuality Studies Program and Spectrum Pride Alliance. For any questions or concerns, please contact Dr. Nowell Marshall at nmarshall@rider.edu.

FACULTY AND STAFF ALLIES ON CAMPUS

NameDepartment or OrganizationLocationContact Email
Avery ArringtonResidential ProgramsConover B-109aarrington@rider.edu
Cristen BabikAthleticsMaurer 206cbabik@rider.edu
Kenneth BoardmanEducation
Memorial Education Office
kboardman@rider.edu
Alice BorodianskyCounseling Center InternZoerner House 
Kathy BrowneDept. of Geological, Environmental & Marine SciencesSCI 303 until 1/2014browne@rider.edu
Richard Burgh
PhilosophyNorth Hall 119burgh@rider.edu
Amanda EiseleGreek LifeBLC 118aeisele@rider.edu
Courtney FerrickResidential ProgramsWright Hall Officeferrickc@rider.edu
Tara FullerOffice of Greek LifeBLC 118tfuller@rider.edu
Maggie Furniss
Westminster Counseling Center InternWilliamson Hallmaczuga@rider.edu
Gywenn Gaittins
Campus SafetyPublic Safetyggaittins@rider.edu
Rosemary GenaoResidential ProgramsSeabrook 101 (Westminsters)genaor@rider.edu
Karen GischlarGrad Education, Leadership & CounselingMemorial 202Nkgischlar@rider.edu
Jeremy Glover
Residential ProgramsRidge House Officegloverj@rider.edu
Jacqueline HeadResidential ProgramsRidge Househeadj@rider.edu
Melissa Hofmann
Moore LibraryLibrary 339mhofmann@rider.edu
Kathryn Holden
Moore LibraryLibrary 336holden@rider.edu
Jon Jones
OITFine Arts 118 and GSBjjones@rider.edu
Terra Joseph
EnglishFine Arts 328tjosepgh@rider.edu
Joanna KesslingAdmissions - WestminsterWilliamson & Ciambelli Hallkessling@rider.edu
Nick LaTorreResidential ProgramsZiegler/Moore Halllatorren@rider.edu
Gigi Li
Counseling Center InternZoerner House 
Joan Liptrot
Campus LifeBLC 123jliptrot@rider.edu
Jennifer Lopez
Residential ProgramsSwitlik Hall Officelopezje@rider.edu
Amy LoSaccoResidential ProgramsPoydaalosacco@rider.edu
Nowell MarshallEnglish/Gender and Sexuality StudiesFine Arts 334nmarshall@rider.edu
Dr Nadine Marty, Ed.SCounseling ServicesZoerner Housenmarty@rider.edu
Selema MoligaResidential ProgramsArea Officesmoliga@rider.edu
Mary MorseEnglish/Gender and Sexuality StudiesFine Arts 320mmorse@rider.edu
Katie MulliganChaplain OfficeGill Chapel Basementkmulligan@rider.edu
Tami Musumeci-Szabo
PsychologyScience 322Ftmusimecisz@rider.edu
Susan O'Sullivan-GavinDept. Marketing, Advertising & Legal StudiesSWG 253sosullivang@rider.edu
Magui Perez-Garrido
Languages and Learning CenterFine Arts 365mperez@rider.edu
Terry Pertuit
Graduate Education, Leadership & CounselingMemorial 202Ktpertuit@rider.edu
Tyme Roberts-Rodriguez
Counseling Center InternZoerner House 
Michael RutkowskiController’s OfficeBart Luedeke 101mrutkowski@rider.edu
Erica Ryan
HistoryNorth Hall 105eryan@rider.edu
Maria SanchezDept. of AccountingSWG 330msanchez@rider.edu
Jenny ScudderStudent Success CenterBLC 237jscudder@rider.edu
Laura Serbonich
Counseling Center InternZoerner Houselserbonich@rider.edu
Katherine ShieldsWestminster AdmissionsWilliamson & Ciambelli Hallkshields@rider.edu
Dr Lisa Spatafore, Psy.D
Counseling ServicesZoerner Houselspatafore@rider.edu
Evelyn ThomasAcademic SupportTaylor B12thomasev@rider.edu
Meg Tierney
Residential ProgramsLincoln B100
tierneym@rider.edu
Megan Titus
English/Gender and Sexuality Studies
Fine Arts 330metitus@rider.edu
Ida TysonEOPAnnex Rm. 6ityson@rider.edu
Vickie Weaver
Campus Safety
Public Safety
weaver@rider.edu
Jennifer Weiss
Residential Programs
Centennial House Rm. 8
weissj@rider.edu
Cristy ZieglerCommunity StandardsBLC 117cziegler@rider.edu

STUDENT ALLIES

NameContact Email
Emmy Abdill
abdille@rider.edu
Jelani Abdus-Salaam
abdussalaaj@rider.edu
Diogo Azevedo
azevedod@rider.edu
Hannah Bass
bassh@rider.edu
Nicole Bayliesbayliesn@rider.edu
Dana Bernardobernardod@rider.edu
Kyle Bivensbivensky@rider.edu
Brittany Blytheblytheb@rider.edu
Jessica Bohnenberger
bohnenbergerj@rider.edu
Patrick Brennan
brennanp@rider.edu
Marianna Buseman
busemanm@rider.edu
Patrick Callahancallahanp@rider.edu
David Campbell
campbelld@rider.edu
Juliana Ciccarelliciccarellij@rider.edu
Alicia DeGraw
degrawa@rider.edu
Angela Delgadodelgadoa@rider.edu
Danielle deLisidelisid@rider.edu
Brittany Demcovitz
demcovitzb@rider.edu
Darin Earl
earld@rider.edu
Steven Gaskill
gaskills@rider.edu
Sophie Harperharpers@rider.edu
Ryan Hensonhensonr@rider.edu
Peri Himsel
himselp@rider.edu
Samantha Hurykhuryks@rider.edu
Amanda Irving
irvinga@rider.edu
Bethany Jacobsjacobsb@rider.edu
Aleaha Jones
jonesal@rider.edu
Hunter Krol
krolh@rider.edu
Katie Lassiter
lassiterk@rider.edu
Nicole Lipariliparin@rider.edu
Samantha Lukaslukass@rider.edu
Christopher Mari Davis
maridavisc@rider.edu
Jessica Marinomarinoj@rider.edu
Deborah McFetridge
mcfetridged@rider.edu
Brigid McGowan
mcgowanb@rider.edu
Rushelle Mundell
mundellr@rider.edu
Anna Parksparksa@rider.edu
Madison Parrotta
parrottam@rider.edu
Cierrah Parson
parsonc@rider.edu
Amanda Pincuspincusa@rider.edu
Drew Pinkston
pinkstondr@rider.edu
Neil Rasbury
rasburyn@rider.edu
Jesse Raymond
raymondje@rider.edu
Katharine Rellarellak@rider.edu
Rachel Sinowaysinowayr@rider.edu
Madeline Smithsmithma@rider.edu
Enza Talluto
tallutoe@rider.edu
Charmaine Turnerturnerc@rider.edu
Michelle Tyburskityburskimi@rider.edu
Ashley Virzivirzia@rider.edu
Mariecia Wilkinsonwilkinsonm@rider.edu
Allison Williamswilliamsall@rider.edu