Student Awards

Charles O. Richardson Prize in Recognition of Outstanding Achievement in the First-Year History Seminar

Congratulations to Matthew Castorina, Tiffany Cosumano, Alia Danch, and Patrick Skinner.

Gary A. Carskaddan Prize

The Gary A. Carskaddan Prize winner for Spring 2013 is Karryne MacLean.  Karryne is a Baccalaureate Honors Program scholar double majoring in History and Secondary Education with a minor in Business. The Carskaddan Prize is awarded to the History or Education/History major who, with 12-21 credits in history courses at the end of the previous semester, had the highest cumulative grade point average in history courses.  Winners receive a Rider Bookstore gift certificate or equivalent cash award.

Levine Research Prize

The co-winners of the research prize are Rebecca Russo and Griffith Montferrante.  Rebecca conducted research at the New Jersey State Archives using original Supreme Court indictments and court records for her paper, “‘Not Having the Fear of God before Her Eyes’: Infanticide in Colonial NJ”.  She worked with Dr. Brooke Hunter on this project as an independent study.  Griff turned his love of old movies into a winning research paper, “Wartime Propaganda in Hollywood Films, in Dr. Tom Callahan’s Research Seminar.  Both students delivered excellent presentations of their research to a captivated audience at the Spring Awards Celebration.

Levine Phi Alpha Theta Prize

This is our most prestigious prize awarded to the graduating History major or Education/History major with the highest cumulative grade point average in history. Jordyn Horning is this year’s recipient. Jordyn is a Baccalaureate Honors Program scholar double majoring in History and English with a minor in Philosophy.

Levine Post-Graduate Award  

Brittany Gajewski will apply the Post-Graduate Award to her pursuit of a Master’s Degree in Counseling at Rutgers University next fall.