Steering Committee

Welcome to the webpage of the Energy and Sustainability Steering Committee (ESSC). Formed in Spring 2007, the steering committee's mission is to implement a balanced focus on sustainability throughout the Rider's operations within the framework of the University's Strategic Plan. Sustainability is a principle that guides the allocation of resources in a way that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. We have developed an explicit mission statement and strategic plan to guide our decisions.

President Rozanski's signing of the College and University President's Climate Commitment has helped to frame our near-term tasks and provide us with some long term goals.

We produce an annual report describing activities on campus that support our sustainability mission. Some of these internal activities are initiated by the steering committee, some by task forces, and some by community members whose commitment is to be applauded and encouraged. Because sustainability is such an important and pressing global issue, there are a wide variety of external resources that support our initiatives on campus and may help you to find ways to live in a more sustainable way.

Finally if you have a great idea about how to involve more students in sustainability, develop academic programs, enhance interdisciplinary understanding of responses to the climate crisis, foster awareness of social responsibility related to sustainability or more effectively build Rider's resources for the future, please contact the committee by sending an email to Melissa Greenberg, Sustainability Manager at

Committee Members

Melissa Greenberg
Sustainability Manager
Committee Co-Chair
Finance Division
Email Address:
Phone: (609) 896-5000 x7559
Office: General Services Bldg

Lauren Wisniewski
Graduate Assistant for Sustainability
Phone: (609) 896-5000 x7559
Office: General Services Bldg

Julie Karns
Vice President & Treasurer
Email Address:
Phone: (609) 896-5016
Office: Moore Library 103

Mike Reca
Associate Vice President
Facilities and Auxiliary Services
Email Address:
Phone: 609-896-5080
Office: General Services Bldg

Dr. Laura Hyatt
Assistant Dean for Sciences
Email Address:
Phone: (609)895-5419
Office: Science Hall 338F

Beverly Braddock
Office of the President
Email Address:
Phone: (609) 896-5000 x7056
Office: Moore Library 101

Patricia Dawson
Librarian II
Moore Library
Email Address:
Phone: 609-896-5114
Fax: 609-896-8029
Office: Moore Library 331

Cara DiYanni
Assistant Professor I - Psychology
Email Address:
Phone: (609) 896-7761
Office: SCI 322A

Dr. Daniel L. Drunkenbrod
Assistant Professor I
Email Address:
Phone: 609-895-5422
Office: SCI 323F

Pam Durkin
Associate Head Coach
Athletics Department
Email Address:
Phone: (609) 896-5000 x5368
Office: Moore Library 101

Betsy Hallinger
Administrative Specialist
Student Support Services
Email Address:
Phone: (609) 896-5000 x7141
Office: VON 17

Fred Kerner
WCC Mail Center
Email Address:

Elizabeth McErlean
Office of Budget
Email Address:
Phone: (609)896-5277
Office: Moore Library 105

John Mozes
General Manager
The Bronc 107.7 Radio Station
Email Address:
Phone: (609) 896-5000 x7560
Office: Moore Library 101

Elaine Rafferty
Assistant to the Vice President
Email Address:
Phone: (609) 895-5795
Office: Moore Library 130

Dr. Howard Rees
Instructor - Technology and Information Management

Dr. Maria H. Sanchez
Associate Professor
Email Address:
Phone: (609) 895-5582
Office: Sweigart Hall 330

  • All of our Eco-Reps serve on the ESSC as well.